Rule Changes and Clarifications
Edit:  12-13-2019
Revenge, 2020
Past Revenge Scores
Categories  Overall
Revenge , 2019
Revenge, 2018
Categories  Winners
Revenge, 2017
Monthly Match Scores
Revenge, 2016
Match Final w/Extras
Revenge, 2015
Clean Shooters
Revenge, 2014
Nov 3, 2019
Revenge, 2013
Side Match Winners
Nov 2, 2019
Revenge, 2012
Revenge Stages 2020
Revenge, 2011
Revenge, 2010
Revenge, 2009
Revenge, 2008
Revenge, 2007
Revenge, 2006
Revenge, 2005
Rule Changes and Clarifications

Decocking Mid Stage Up/date
Moving from LT w/shotgun closed & NOT cocked
When is a Stage Finished?
No Ammo For Reload
AD at Unloading Table
Moving from LT w/shotgun closed and cocked
Duelist with 2 loaded Pistols in Hand
Loss of Saftey Glasses
Leaving the Loading Table
Angled Cartridge Loops
Overloading the Rifle
Rooster Grips
Overall Wins for Buckaroo's etts
Decocking  Updated 9-7-2018
The 170
When is a double closed?
B Western Suspenders
Leaving the LT with Hammer back on Rifle.
Long Range
Loss of Safety Glasses
1) Shooter must STOP (or be stopped) immediately due to the seriousness of the SAFETY issue involved.
This would NOT constitute "RO impeding/interference" in handling a shooter's equipment failure;
therefore there would be NO GROUNDS for a restart/reshoot.
Precedent exists regarding the handling of a suspected "squib" during stage engagement.

2) If the shooter is able to remedy the issue SAFELY, s/he may continue the stage after resolution.
An RO should be allowed to "safely assist" the shooter in this case (e.g. retrieve & return dropped safety glasses to the shooter if the shooter has a cocked firearm in hand)

3) If the shooter is unable to SAFELY resolve the situation (e.g. glasses are broken or end up ahead of an active firing line), the shooter would receive a DNF due to inability to continue and complete the stage.
Dear SASS Match Directors, Event Organizers, RO Committee, and Affiliated Club Contacts:
After careful consideration and evaluation of the countless requests and movements regarding scoring methods for Cowboy Action Shooting™, the SASS Board of Directors do hereby decree that effective immediately, all SASS Sanctioned Cowboy Action Shooting™ matches are to be scored using Total Time. Please consider this your notice to that effect and make immediate changes to your match planning to accommodate the change.
SASS Sanctioned Cowboy Action Shooting™ matches will no longer be allowed to use any scoring method other than Total Time. Updated contracts will be issued in the coming weeks to reflect the change.
We feel strongly that this monumental change will garner great support and appreciation from our valued members.
Overloading your Rifle
NOTE: Published in the "Cowboy Chronicle" July 2011 edition - page 55

Overloading the rifle
... Overloading a rifle on a stage is not a safety issue. The safety comes into play if the shooter has any rounds left in the rifle after he/she has fired the rifle and committed to the next gun. Then, and only then, a safety shall be issued if a live round is left anywhere in the rifle.
Should the shooter realize that they have loaded too many rounds and safely ejects those rounds, it’s a no call.
Should the shooter fire more rounds than called for in the stage, it would be a “P” for using ammunition that was illegally acquired....
Wild Bunch mandate
What’s the Call?
Application of related existing rules/penalties
Stage calls for 9 rounds in the rifle. Shooter loads 10 rounds at the loading table.
Whats the call if:
1. Shooter shoots 9 rounds and ejects the 10th round…safely restages rifle “open & empty”.
NO CALL – NO MSV penalty for overloading – Rifle is considered “safe to leave shooter’s hands”.
2. Shooter kicks out the first round and then shoots the next 9 rounds.
“P” + miss (use of “illegally acquired” ammunition)
3. Shooter shoots 5 rounds, then kicks one out, and then shoots the next 4 rounds.
“P” + miss (use of “illegally acquired” ammunition)
4. Shooter shoots 9 rounds then puts down open rifle and then shoots the next gun.
MSV for an unfired round remaining in long gun action or magazine
SDQ if round is chambered (e.g. lever closes when restaged)
Here are the applicable rules used in determining the penalty for use of a "preloaded" replacement round in a rifle:
Ammunition required for reloads during the course of any stage must be carried on the shooter’s person in a bandoleer, cartridge/shotshell belt loop, pouch, holster, or pocket or be safely staged as required by stage instructions. ......Leather belt slide ammo loops are acceptable; …
SHB p.11
The penalty for using "illegally acquired" ammunition (i.e. NOT carried to the line/staged by the shooter in an approved manner) will be a PROCEDURAL. Any targets hit using that ammo will be scored as MISSES.
NO adjustments will be made to the stage raw time.
SHB pp.21 & 25 – RO1 p. 21 – RO2 p.6
27. Ammunition dropped by a shooter in the course of reloading any firearm during a stage or ejected from any firearm may be retrieved and replaced, or, alternatively must be replaced from the shooter's person or other area as allowed by stage description.  If the round is not fired it is counted the same as a missed shot. SHB Page 25:  #27
Additional Q&A:
1) If you load too many rounds in your rifle it's a no call but ONLY if you kick it out AFTER you have fired all the rest of the rounds in the rifle?
YES. If a round is 'kicked out'/ejected DURING the rifle shooting string (as opposed to at the END), the 'extra round' is there to replace it.
Rather than rely on a "judgement call" as to the shooter's INTENT (i.e. was the rifle overloaded on purpose or not?), the rules regarding "illegally acquired" ammo can be applied in ALL circumstances where the 'extra' round is used.
NO PENALTY for overloading.
The following existing rules STILL apply:
"P" + miss for use of ANY 'extra' round(s) preloaded in the magazine at the loading table to replace ANY that are ejected during the rifle shooting string.
MSV for leaving rounds in the rifle at the end of the shooting string (shooter has until FIRING the next gun to clear it)...or...if the rifle is the last firearm used on the stage; it must be cleared before leaving the shooter's hand(s) @ the ULT.
SDQ if an extra round ends up in the chamber (e.g. rifle returned to scabbard & the lever closes)
A “Spirit of the Game” penalty would NOT be appropriate as there is no advantage in getting the 15-second penalty (Procedural + Miss) for intentionally ‘overloading’ in anticipation of ejecting a round during the rifle shooting string.
2) If a shooter fires the extra round.... Shoots the 9 targets, and dumps the extra round into the back of the bay. What is the call? Is it a "P" for firing 10 rounds when the stage called for 9?
YES...according to the WB mandate. The round MAY NOT BE FIRED to clear the rifle.
NOTE: This is NOT the same as loading 2 in a shotgun and firing one (or both) at a target or firing the "extra" round downrange. The shotgun is generally NOT "preloaded" at the loading table.

As it refers to the following rules re: DE-COCKING:
7. De-cocking may not be done to avoid a penalty if cocked at the wrong time, position or location once a round has gone down range. NO gun may be de-cocked on the firing line except by pointing it down range and pulling the trigger or while under the direct supervision of a stage officer/Timer Operator.
The penalty for de-cocking is a Stage Disqualification.
SHB p.23 / RO1 p.16
"Under the direct supervision" requires the TOs acknowledgement in an instructive or affirmative manner.
In other words there must be a positive indication to the shooter that the TO is giving his approval for the shooters action.

Rifle = 10 + 1 (reload after firing the first 10 rounds)
Shooter fires first 10 shots, sets rifle down open & empty; T/O reminds shooter to "LOAD ONE!"
With rifle remaining on the table, shooter closes lever, DECOCKS HAMMER, then loads one round into the loading gate; picks up rifle, levers round into chamber & engages last target.

This is a NO CALL:
1) Shooter is NOT "decocking to avoid a penalty..." (see 1st & 3rd SHB references below)
2) Shooter is not decocking on an unfired round (rifle is empty)
3) Shooter is under the observation of the T/O
4) Shooter closed lever and decocked hammer the same method as when loading at the loading table.
(force of habit to avoid the SDQ for coming to the line with the hammer cocked)
- No firearm may be de-cocked on the firing line to avoid a penalty if cocked at the wrong time, position or location once a round has gone downrange. 
SHB p.14
- De-cocking a revolver, rifle, or hammered shotgun without positive direction to do so from the CRO/TO. 
SHB p.22 "Stage DQs"
Decocking to avoid a penalty if cocked at the wrong time, position or location 
SHB p.41 "Pocket RO Card"
Related question re revolver (full 5-round reload) Colt-style revolver/loads on half-cock:
Shooter clears empties from first revolver, loads 5 rounds, spins cylinder (checking for high primers)
indexes to see empty chamber from the side; brings hammer to full-cock & lowers on empty chamber; recocks hammer to begin firing.
Same conditions as for the rifle apply...also a NO CALL.

The 170
The 170
The 170º rule, by definition, DOES NOT always apply to/from/at the loading/unloading tables.
This is due to the wide variations in range/stage does on some ranges, if they are on a common firing line with the stage itself
(Note: The 170-degree safety rule means the muzzle of the firearm must always be straight down range +/- 85 degrees in any direction. If a competitor “comes close” to breaking the 180-degree safety plane, the 170-degree safety rule has been violated, and the competitor is at fault.)
SHB p.24/RO1 p.19
170º Safety Rule - means the muzzle of the firearm must always be pointed down range +/- 85 degrees in any direction.
RO1 "Glossary of Terms" p.30
J) Once the stage begins, the Timer Operator stays within arm’s length of the competitor until the stage is finished. The Timer Operator then immediately announces the stage time to the shooter. Only after revolvers are holstered and long guns are action opened, muzzles pointed in a safe direction, and the shooter is heading towards the unloading table does the Timer Operator, declare “Range is Clear” and conveys the time to the Score Keeper in a loud, clear voice.
RO1 p.8
4. “Muzzle up” Please move to the Unloading Table” should be stated at the end of a shooting sequence. Often the competitor stops thinking—after all, his shooting problem is finished! He simply needs a gentle reminder of what to do next.
RO1 p.13
2. Long guns will have their actions open with chambers and magazines empty and muzzles pointed in a safe direction when being carried to and from the designated loading and unloading areas for each stage.
...The muzzles of all long guns must be maintained in a safe direction (generally “up” and slightly down range), even when returning to the unloading table.
RO1 p.15
The "problem" seems to be the parenthetical "generally "up" and slightly down range" as a definition of suggested "safe direction"...
It should be obvious that the reference to "slightly down range" applies primarily DURING the stage engagement...if the muzzle of a firearm is pointed straight UP during the 'course of fire' (i.e. @ 180º), the shooter is in violation of the 170º rule.
Once the stage has ended & the shooter is headed to the ULT, there are often personnel DOWNrange (e.g. setting targets/picking brass) that point, "slightly downrange" might not necessarily be a "best practice" (depending on range/stage layout).
COMMON SENSE should be used to determine the safest direction to point muzzles when moving from the LT to the stage & from the stage to the ULT.
UP has already been determined to be considered acceptable.
The PRIMARY consideration is to avoid SWEEPING anyone with the muzzle of ANY firearm at ANY time.
When is a Double Closed
If it requires manipulation of the top lever to open it, it's CLOSED.
Otherwise  it should "fall open" freely when picked up by the pistol-grip/wrist
Long Range
"Range finders", or any other devices for calculating distances or sight
adjustments are not allowed. Their use constitutes a side match
Overall Wins for Buckaroos/etts/Incudes our Revenge
The rule to consider at all times when formulating a match that is both fair and consistent for all competitors, in stage design as well as scoring and determining the "winner" is to ask the question: "Did everyone shoot the same match?"
Can a Buckaroo/Buckarette win a match overall? YES! As long as he/she shoots the same match as everyone else! if they choose to compete for the Overall Title.
To clarify:
* Buckaroo/ette Category Champions: When competing in the Buckaroo/Buckarette category, the shooter is "vying" for the Category champion title, hence, competing against others in that category who are following the same match specs, requirements, and shooting scenarios with the same expectations for performance (ie, the knockdown target doesn't have to go down, it only has to be hit).
* Buckaroo/ette Overall Match Winner: When a Buckaroo/Buckarette chooses to compete for an "Overall" Match Title, particularly at the World Championship level, that shooter is competing with all shooters, regardless of age. All target and scenario engagements must be met with the same expectations for performance with no advantage at that level. If the Buckaroo/Buckarette chooses to compete for the Overall Title, the shooter must inform the match officials and shoot the match accordingly. If the stage/scenario calls for a knockdown, the target must be down to count, aerial targets must be engaged, reloads taken at the line, etc.
Until now, there has been no official clarification, current rule, guideline, or restriction for determining the OVERALL Match winner at a SASS Sanctioned match in regards to Buckaroo/Buckarette competitors at the State, Regional, National, or World Championships as SASS Sanctioned matches.
SASS takes the above stand in regards to determining the Overall Champion at the World Championship Level, END of TRAIL.
~Misty Moonshine

B Western Suspenders
RO Rules Committee ruled that suspenders were allowed on the gun-belt, not on the pants
OK to hold up the gun/ammo belt.
AD at Unloading Table
I see a dilemma here between the rule as written and the need to clear firearms on the line before they are taken off the line -duh. :D This begs the question what does one do to satisfy the rules, and still be safe.
Case #1 - A shooter is simply unloading their firearm at the unloading table, from a firearm that HAS NOT BEEN DECLARED OR DEEMED "malfunctioned"....(perhaps they overloaded their rifle, and didn't know it, and they racked the rifle at the unloading table and it went off) resulting in a discharge......I would say this is carelessness and needs to be penalized - MDQ.
Case #2 - A shooter experiences a "malfunctioned" firearm during the stage, hands it off or grounds it on a table / straw bale or something, then it is taken to the unloading table, easily cleared without a problem - then this is a NON-issue. Now if the firearm can't be cleared without the help of a gunsmith or very knowledgeable person, they need to enlist someone's help. There still exists the possibility of a discharge, and if so the firearm should be taken to line, the posse activity stopped briefly, and the firearm cleared......if there is a discharge after having done all the right things to be safe, I would say that it would be a NO-CALL.
There has to be some common sense used here......and we can't penalize people for doing all the right things to get a firearm cleared safely.
  Black Jack Zak, Palewolf concurs
Leaving the Loading Table
Ro- 1 Handbook page 10
G)Never allow a competitor to leave the loading table with a loaded firearm unless they
are proceeding directly to the stage or expeditor position.
RO-I page 21
All firearms shall remain unloaded except when under the direct observation of a Range
Officer on the firing line or in the loading area.
(Does the above need to be addressed with a specific written penalty if they do?)
It already is:
SDQ - "Failure to adhere to loading and unloading procedures" (RO1 p.25)
It has come to my attention that some shooters are being reprimanded for taking a step away from the loading table with pistols in their holsters in order to allow room for other shooters to load their firearms.
Since I didn't personally did not observe the incident I have no further information.
Yes the shooter could have placed his pistols on the table............
I remember we discussed this some time back as to just how far the shooter could roam from the loading table before it becomes a safety issue?
It depends on the range/stage/LT arrangement.
There is no specific distance listed in the regs due to the many variations.
(REF: RO3)
Duelist With Two Loaded Pistols in Hand
Duelist ( sometimes DD, ) moves to last station of stage to shoot pistol  targets, squares up,  and lifts both revolvers by a few inches, but enough to clear leather. Not sure if he is lost to what gun he wants to shoot first, confused, or why the reason, but he realizes his error very quickly and holsters one and continues.

Shooter may correct the "out of category" violation any time before one of the revolvers is COCKED.
If either revolver is cocked with two loaded revolvers "out of leather" the progressive P/SDQ/MDQ penalty applies.

Since the shooter in the OP corrected the error before cocking either revolver, it would be a NO CALL situation.
No Ammo for Reload
After shooting the ten rifle shots the shooter is to make a rifle reload and shoot a bonus target and there is NO penalty for a miss.
The shooter finds he dosen't have any ammo on him for the bonus reload and moves on to shotgun.

Stage calls for 11 rounds, shooter only fires 10.  5 second penalty for
the unfired round.  It's no different than when a shooter jacks out a
round and chooses not to reload.  It doesn't matter that the target was a
"no miss" target because you are not giving a miss.  They are getting a
5 second penalty for the unfired round.  That is a separate penalty
even though it is scored the same as a miss.

When is a Stage Finished
When is a stage finished?  This is a real world example.

Stage sequence is pistol, pistol, rifle, shotgun. 
Halfway through the rifle the TO stops the shooter saying "The rifle has a squib.  If there is no squib you can have a reshoot".  The shooter is not given the opportunity to shoot the shotgun at all. 

So, in my mind, the shooter finished the stage.  He shot the stage up to the point he was told to stop.  He stopped when he was told to stop.  He is supposed to stop when told to, so he did.
However,  some people complained the shooter should have been given a DNF because he didn't finish (i.e. shoot the shotgun).

The shooters takes all the misses, including the 4 shotgun, and the time.  So that's 13 misses and 13.98 seconds of raw time for a 78.98 second total time.
The shooter has had a really bad day and never even considers a reshoot.  He's tired and nothing has gone right all day long.
Note again, the shooter did not ask for a reshoot, he actually declined to ask for one.  He could have and would have been given one since the TO should not have stopped the shooter completely. 

So the question are.... 
1)  Regardless of the reason, when the TO commands the shooter to stop and the shooter stops has the shooter finished the stage?  The elapsed time is the stage time? 
2)  If not, then does the TO has the ability to force a DNF on the shooter if the shooter does not want to reshoot?

As a side comment.  If the rifle had completely broken the shooter could not have reshot the stage even if he had wanted to.

Timer Operator should be replaced/reeducated for failure to follow the "Stage Convention" re handling a suspected squib:

- In the case of a suspected squib, the CRO/TO will instruct the shooter to make the firearm safe and continue with the next firearm.  If the barrel is later determined to be clear, the shooter will receive a reshoot. 

SHB Pg 13

Since the T/O stopped the shooter and "The shooter is not given the opportunity to shoot the shotgun at all." , I would give the shooter:
Raw time + misses for any "unfired rounds" in the rifle + misses for unfired shotgun rounds (as in the OP).

This would, IMO, NOT be a DNF situation (scored as a SDQ) given that, if the shooter had failed to follow the T/O's instruction to "STOP", he would have had a MDQ.
The shooter's choice (or inability) to take the reshoot after the T/O's unwarranted impeding does not constitute a DNF in this situation.

Angled Cartridge Loops
After considerable discussion, the combined WB/ROC has come to a final decision regarding the question as to the legality of "angled cartridge loops" on gun/ammo belts and slides:
Laterally-angled cartridge loops on belts and ammo slides are LEGAL and ALLOWED for SASS competition use.
This ruling rescinds all previous rulings and opinions.
LATERALLY-ANGLED ... i.e. tilted to the SIDE, not OUT from the body
e.g. /// \\\ \I/
EDIT: The clarification allowing laterally-angled ammo loops on BELTS & SLIDES does NOT apply to BANDOLIERS.
Rooster Grips
"Grips or stocks of simulated or natural materials are acceptable provided they are not customized to constitute a “target” grip or stock.  That is, they must be of the same basic shape as grips or stocks found on original firearms."
SHB p.34

"Period style tacks, carving, engraving, checkering, inlays, and other such embellishments are allowed on stocks and grips provided they do not constitute any kind of radical or target type grip enhancement." 
SHB p.36

The ROC recently reviewed an application for reconsideration of "finger-grooved" revolver grips and came to the conclusion that such approval would likely open the gate for other types of "grip-enhancing" modifications of that type. Current versions of the "Rooster Shooter" grips have significantly deeper grooves than the original offering introduced by Cimarron in 2009 that had been approved by the ROC a number of years ago.
Attempting to regulate the amount of modification allowed in order to "legalize" the after-market offerings (current versions as well as any future or home-made finger-grooved revolver grips) would not be feasible.

Removal of the prohibition for related grip mods would require an actual rule change, which entails getting a majority approval by a vote of the Territorial Governors.

The ROC considered the best course of action at this time would be to rescind the initial past approval of the earlier model Rooster Shooter with "finger-grooved" grips.
Moving From LT With Shotgun Closed and NOT Cocked
Moving?/changing location with a shotgun action CLOSED and the hammer(s) DOWN on EMPTY chamber(s).

Considering that a loaded RIFLE (no round chambered) is carried from the LT to the staging location in that condition, doing so with a SHOTGUN (which is almost always NOT loaded at the LT) is a NO CALL.
Simply have the shooter open the action upon arrival at the staging point.
If it somehow happens to be loaded, apply the appropriate SDQ.

    A shotgun is considered SAFE for movement (in hand, while moving through a stage) in the following condition only:
    - Action open, round in chamber or on carrier.
    - Hammer(s) fully down on an empty chamber(s) or expended round(s), action closed.
SHB p.15

This also applies when moving from the LT or to the ULT (i.e. at anytime while on the FIRING LINE).
    Firing line – from first firearm placed on the loading table until all firearms are confirmed as cleared at the unloading table.
SHB p.43
Edited December 17, 2018 by PaleWolf Brunelle, #2495L

Leaving the Loading Table with a Hammer Back on Rifle

Effective January 2020

In such instances, the shooter will be directed to point the rifle safely into the back berm, bring the hammer to full cock if it is in the half-cock/safety position, then pull the trigger.
If no round is fired, the shooter will be directed to finish staging firearms in order to start the stage (No Call).
If a round fires when the shooter pulls the trigger, the shooter will be assessed a Stage DQ and directed to proceed to the unloading table


The new rule change about the cocked Hammer from the loading table to staging point is just what it says.Once you get to the point of STAGING your rifle ,IF your rifle is cocked (yes half cocked is the same as cocked) in that time & you Stage your rifle.Once you release your grip on your Rifle its a SDQ. You must declare and take remedy before releasing the rifle.


Decocking Mid-Stage
Rifle = 10 + 1 ?(reload after firing the first 10 rounds)
Shooter fires first ?10 shots, sets rifle down open & empty; T/O reminds shooter to "LOAD ONE!"
With rifle remaining on the table, shooter closes lever, DECOCKS HAMMER, then loads one round into the loading gate; picks up rifle, levers round into chamber & engages last target.
This is a NO CALL:
1) Shooter is NOT "decocking to avoid a penalty..." (see 1st & 3rd SHB references below)
2) Shooter is not decocking on an unfired round (rifle is empty)
3) Shooter is under the observation of the T/?O
4) Shooter closed lever and decocked hammer the same method as when loading at the loading table.
(force of habit to avoid the SDQ for coming to the line with the hammer cocked)

Moving from LT w/Shotgun Closed and cocked
SHB p.22 - ?Penalties Overview - Stage Disqualification Penalty (SDQ)  
 This applies to ALL LONG GUNS (loaded or not) on the firing line, including moving from the loading table (LT).

    Firing line - from first firearm placed on the loading table until all firearms are confirmed as cleared? at the unloading table.